north sydney garden competition

The winners of the 2022 North Sydney Garden competition have been announced and the biggest winner by far are our leafy green neighbourhoods.

The North Sydney Garden Competition is always a popular event for locals. Avid green thumbs across the Council area have created some magnificent urban sanctuaries in their backyards as well as some beautifully landscaped front lawns and public gardens for everyone to enjoy.

With more than 61 entries over 12 categories, it was a hard job for judge Pat Houlcroft to award the winners. There was a division for just about every kind of green space from balconies and indoor gardens through to vegetable plots and community gardens.

north sydney garden competition

North Sydney Mayor Zoe Baker said living in an area characterised by an abundance of flowers, plants and horticultural brilliance is visually attractive and mentally pleasing.

“Scientific research from across the world has confirmed that nature plays a significant role in our mental and physical wellbeing. You will probably never know the impact your garden has had on others, but the ripple effect will have been substantial,” Mayor Baker said to the participants at the special awards presentation.

ABC Personality Costa Georgiadis once again hosted the popular annual awards with Mayor Baker.

north sydney garden competiton
Some of the winners celebrating with Mayor Zoe Baker and Costa Georgiadis

The North Sydney Garden Competition is about encouraging and celebrating the positive impacts a gardening hobby creates in our community.

2022 Categories and winners

  1. Balcony – Cameron & Eleanor Crowley
  2. Courtyard – Craig Ellis
  3. Indoor garden – Sunflower Seagull and Yoshimi Fukunaga
  4. Front garden – Rungtiwa Kleebpud
  5. Back garden – Rungtiwa Kleebpud
  6. Shared Garden – Rosemary von Stieglitz
  7. Children’s Garden – Jaclyn stewart for Guthrie Childcare
  8. Native Habitat Garden – Cameron Crowley, Wandakiah Reserve
  9. Edible Garden – Private – Christina Wu
  10. Edible Garden – Community – Kurraba Point Community Garden
  11. Lex and Ruby Graham Prize – individual maintaining/beautifying public land – Anai Gonzales Cordoro
  12. Lex and Ruby Graham Prize – group or residents maintaining/beautifying public land – Maria Scolaro for Winslow Street residents
  13. Judge’s special Award: May Gibbs Nutcote Award – Wendy Scott Hawke


Scroll to Top