All of North Sydney Council’s operations, facilities, and streetlights will soon be powered by  100% solar energy. 

North Sydney Council is one of 25 councils opting to be powered by three NSW solar farms under a new deal between the Southern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils (SSROC) and electricity retailer, ZEN Energy Retail Pty Ltd (ZEN Energy). 

Most of North Sydney’s operations, major facilities and streetlights will move to solar power  on 1 July 2022, with some small sites to move to solar power on 1 January 2023.  

North Sydney Mayor Zoe Baker said: “The need to respond to the climate crisis is urgent and Council is leading the way by moving to 100% renewable energy to power all our  operations, including our library, pool, sport facilities, buildings, car parks and streetlights. 

“Moving to 100% solar power is a significant step towards reducing our greenhouse gas  emissions and protecting our environment for the future.” 

Over 214 gigawatt hours of electricity will be provided per year to 25 councils across NSW, supplying electricity to over 300 major council facilities, more than 210,000 streetlights and  more than 3000 small sites managed by councils.  

North Sydney Council has opted for 100% renewable energy under the agreement and, overall, 83% of all the participating councils’ total electricity supply will be covered by renewable energy from the Moree, Hillston and Nevertire Solar Farms, all located within  NSW.  

The 25 participating councils collectively represent over 3 million people, which is almost 38% of NSW population. The agreement commences in 2022 and runs to 2026 with an option to extend to 2030. 

The participating councils are: Bayside, Burwood, Campbelltown, Canada Bay, Canterbury Bankstown, Fairfield, Georges River, Hornsby, Hunters Hill, Inner West, Ku-ring-gai, Lane  Cove, Liverpool, Mosman, North Sydney, Parramatta, Port Stephens, Randwick, Ryde,  Singleton, Sutherland, Tamworth, Waverley, Willoughby and Woollahra.

Scroll to Top