Community Award winners

From regenerating local bushland to helping skilled migrants find work, there are many ways local citizens make a difference to the North Sydney local government area. The annual North Sydney Community Awards recognises and celebrates their altruistic efforts.

Held on 24 February 2023 at the North Sydney Council Chambers, award nominees attended a special presentation ceremony where the winners were announced.

There were four categories: Community Builder, Eco Warrior, Next Generation and Living Legend.

Mayor Zoë Baker said: “It is incredibly important to recognise what local citizens and groups are doing within our community to make it a better place for all. The North Sydney Community Awards acknowledges their outstanding contributions and serves as an inspiration to others. Thank you to all of this year’s nominees, and congratulations to the winners.”

Council has revitalised the North Sydney Community Awards, making it independent from Australia Day and overhauling the list of categories. The judging panel consists of North Sydney Council’s Mayor and Deputy Mayor, as well as the Community Awards Committee.


Community Award winners for 2023

 Janice Hui and Linda Bisnette were the joint winners of the Community Builder Award. They were recognised for their work in helping skilled migrants gain employment through a workshop and one-on-one coaching services at Crows Nest Centre. More than 70 per cent of participants have found jobs linked to their professional field of expertise as a result. Linda is also President of the Zonta Club of North Sydney.

Community Builder Award winners

Honourable Mentions went to Matt Dawson, John Hancox and Audrey Tonkin.

Eco Warrior Award went to both Anne Pickles and Ruth Mitchell for their work with Wildlife Watch – an initiative where volunteers record wildlife observations. Anne has added almost 2,000 entries into Council’s BioCollect database. Meanwhile, Ruth has entered more than 300 historic wildlife records into the database.

Eco Warrior Award Winners

For the Next Generation Award, there were four winners. First, Patrick Boland who has been helping rehabilitate local bushland through the North Sydney Bushcare Program since 2019. He has logged 43 hours of voluntary service, mostly spent controlling exotic weeds at Forsyth Park, Smoothey Park, Tunks East and Harry Howard Reserves.

Next Generation award winner

Loreto Kirribilli students Imogen Wills, Lauren Moloney and Olivia Menzies were also announced as winners for this award. The trio have been instrumental in establishing Loreto as a sustainable school by formally setting up an Environmental Sustainability Framework. Before graduating Year 12 in 2022, they initiated programs such as Earn and Return, a ‘War on Waste’ clean-up day and Plastic Free Canteen.

Next Generation award winners

Finally, there were 29 joint winners for the Living Legend Award – all of whom are volunteers with the North Sydney Bushcare Program. Each have contributed 20 or more years of service. Bushcare celebrates its 30th anniversary in April.


Donald Melrose (30yrs) George Barbouttis (30yrs) Heather Robson (30yrs)
Mary Lyn Lawrence (30yrs) Nicole Bannister (30yrs) Andy Craig
Anita Semler Ann Lyons Bud Coffey
Dick Gall Eddie Tsui Frennie Beytagh
Hilary Walker Ian Clarke Jan Thomas
John Brewer Joyce Meyer Kim Shepherd
Lynne Cook Margaret O’Brien Margaret Ryan
Mart Vesk Michael Young Nancy Heywood
Penelope Blau Penelope Erikson Rosslyn Young
Sissi Stewart Victoria Whitney



Scroll to Top